Barcelona, part 1

I arrived to Barcelona quite early on Monday morning. It took me awhile to get my bearings, since everything was in another language. Four years of high school Spanish has served me well. I’m surprised how much of it I remember. Though I have found that even when you ask people to speak slowly, it doesn’t matter much, they continue speaking at the same speed.

Getting from the airport into the city was easy enough on the RENFE train. I do miss good public transit. I had some time before I could check in at the hostel, but they let me leave my backpack there until I could check in.

The hostel is situated near Plaza de Catalunya. It was plenty close to all the action of the city. There was even a building by Gaudí a block down the street.

Parts of the building remind me of sea creatures.

4/3/2017 Barcelona

4/3/2017 Barcelona

I walked around to take a look around and made my way to Bar Morrysom which I found out about from watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. The food was good, but a bit salty for me.

4/3/2017 Barcelona

4/3/2017 Barcelona

4/3/2017 Barcelona

Anyway, the next day was definitely more interesting. My friend and I visited Park Guell, La Sagrada Familia, and La Mercat de Boqueria. I’m very glad we bought our tickets online ahead of time for Park Guell and La Sagrada Familia, there were lots of people around!

Park Guell was to be an experiment for public housing by the Guell family and Gaudí. There were supposed to be many houses built, but only 2 houses were built and the plaza area where parties were held.

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

I started to become a fan of Gaudí during my visit to Park Guell. His attention to detail and mindfulness of the surrounding nature resonated with me.

Here, he preserves the original trees by making his arches in the same style.

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

Barcelona

La Sagrada Familia deserves its own post, otherwise this one wil be too long.

Leave a Reply

